Young Avengers #1 © Marvel Comics

A week ago Mark brought you news of Marvel NOW!’s newest teaser – AMATEURS – and speculated that, given the creative team of Kieron Gillen and Jamie McKelvie, who worked together on Phonogram, the likely book would be a relaunch of the popular Young Avengers series. Turns out he was right.

The Young Avengers team will consist of Wiccan, Hulkling, Girl Hawkeye, Loki, Marvel Boy and Miss America Chavez. Not only will the heroes handle the hardships of the world but will also grapple with the challenges of becoming a hero.

In a recent interview Gillen stated “this is my chance to take a serious crack at reinventing the Marvel teen super hero for the 21st Century, so I recruited my favourite collaborators in a Dirty-Dozen fashion, and set about the task”.

Artists Mike Norton (Revival, Battlepug) and Matt Wilson (Wolverine, Uncanny X-Force) will also be involved.

This looks like a lot of fun!

Young Avengers #1 will be released this coming January.

Published by Mark Brassington

Father and Husband. Works in Corporate Banking. Loves Books, Comics, Cycling, Music, Games, going to the Gym and Writing.

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: